Polar Star

For a long time I wasn’t sure about it.
I couldn’t sleep. It kept me awake –
the question what it is that I feel for you.
How do I know that I love someone,
when I never loved or was loved before?

One day it became clear to me.

I knew it when I was sad the second you left.
When the door is slammed shut, I feel empty.

I knew it when I felt lost without you.
You are the star that guides me home.

I knew it when I held my breath during the news.
Every car crash makes me fear it could be you.

I knew it when I gave up the need to do everything on my own.
I let the map sink, I follow my Polar Star.

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

